Bad News Brown: Harmonica Infused Hip-Hop

Just in case anyone out there thinks harmonicas only beling in blues or folk music, you have yet to hear what hip-hop artist, Bad News Brown, did with the harmonica to make his rapping stand out.

Paul Frappier, or more commonly known as Bad News Brown, brought a fresh, new sound and rythm to contemporary hip-hop and rap by introducing the harmonica through all of his music. And more importantly, he proved that the harmonica is not an outdated instrument, but a colorful additive to popular music today.

Here is the music video for his debut album, Born 2 Sin.

Bad News Brown was recently shot and killed in Montreal on February 11, 2011, but his impact on his community and the world with his music has not gone unnoticed. His obituary gives a look at how he came to play the harmonica and where his music took him. Also, a podcast tribute to him, One Harmonica: A Tribute to Bad News Brown, can be found and listened to through Gidilounge.

Here is another one of his music videos for his song, Reign.

About harmonichannah

Have you ever watched someone play the harmonica and found yourself coveting the talent? Have you longed to be bale to whip the quirky little instrument from your pocket and set the mood with a happy tune? What has been stopping you from learning? For myself, I have long be fascinated by the harmonica. Its soulful sounds have always resonated with me, whether in an up-beat ditty or an old Blues melody. Also, the players themselves feed out an energy through their playing that makes it impossible for me to not watch them. Its as though the harmonica is an extension of themselves into which the pour passion and mood. And of course there is my incredible longing of the possibility of reaching into my pocket and dazzling my friends with my harmonica playing. Its accessibility in any case is in my opinion fantastical. So why have I never learned to play? I recently received a harmonica as a gift from my brother, and no longer have a valid excuse for not learning. Nevertheless it is still hard for me to keep up and commit to practicing. I have come to understand about myself that I learn best when there is something motivating me to do so. In this case someone to learn along with me and the pressure of an audience. So I am taking this blogging opportunity as my motivator to learn. In my posts I will include styles, artists, and songs that i enjoy, resources that I find helpful in learning, various techniques and terminology, interesting harmonica history and/or facts, as well as my personal journey in learning to play myself. My goal is that by the end of this blogging experience I will be able to see my progress, even if it is small. The most important thing that I wish is to finally commit to practicing and learning to play. And, hopefully through your participation, a means of accountability for my progress and commitment. So join me on this journey or sit back and watch as I begin to better appreciate the warm and archaic sound of the harmonica.
This entry was posted in Harmony Worth Noting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Bad News Brown: Harmonica Infused Hip-Hop

Leave a comment